It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye

Hello again. It’s me, Joey.eb3343a5711b94026e7278b578fa0114-jpg

I’ve never been good at saying goodbye. The absolute worst part of moving was having to say goodbye to both the city we made memories in and to the friends and family that made it home. I miss you guys.

So Dad came this past week. He came in last Saturday and left a few hours ago. I love my dad dearly and was really looking forward to seeing him. It was both wonderful and really hard. Let me explain the wonderful first.

Dad came in around 1:00 last Saturday and we all went out to get food. That seemed to be the theme of the week. Thinking back, we ate out for every single meal this week. Good thing too; my refrigerator was empty when he came.

5432543253425We went to the same breakfast place each morning. By the end of the week, the waitress knew who we were. It was a nifty hole-in-the-wall that Mere found when she was still commuting to work from Caroline’s place.

Dad spent a lot of time helping me work through how to spend my time while I’m looking for work. We’ve come up with some interesting ideas that I’m not going to talk about just yet. Hang around and see; it’s gonna be really cool.

51027991659__6d695d0f-6cd5-4eb4-9c04-ee41fa8660b0We spent the rest of the time bouncing around coffee shops and pizza places. When we got back to the apartment at night, we binge-watched a few seasons of Bob’s Burgers, a bit of a guilty pleasure. Dad left today around noon. That’s where the hard part comes in.

Having a long drive ahead of him, Dad left after lunch. I did my best to put on a brave face, but I’ve never been good at goodbyes. All the emotions I felt when Mere and I first left Raleigh came rushing back. I did a better job holding off crying this time. Lasted almost 5 minutes, a personal record. I waited for him to drive off before wallowing.

I think it’s a good thing that the worst part of Dad coming to visit is when he leaves. It’s a warming feeling knowing that even when Mere and I live over 500 miles away, we’re still a part of the family. Dad, I know you read this, so thanks for coming up. I really need the encouragement. I love you.

Well, that’s all for this week. Come back next week for more rants!

One thought on “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye

  1. It’s always nice when a parent comes to visit and you really enjoy the time together. Your Dads a wonderful person and gives good advice too!! Hang in their Joey😍Love to all, Aunt Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

