Hear the Monsters Calling Home

Hello again. It’s me, Joey.

6846846546574Last weekend (a few hours after I posted THIS), my father-in-law came to visit. He flew up for the weekend and spent some time with us. It was a nice visit, the first one from the NC family. We went out to eat. A lot. That’s the best part of family coming to visit. You get to go out to eat on someone else’s dime. I ate leftovers for the entire week.

20150655881af51e9ff.jpegWe went to this weird castle with Mere’s father. I mean, the fact that its called a castle should be evidence enough. A castle. In Pennsylvania. It was this place called Fonthill. If you don’t feel like reading the linked Wikipedia page, here are the Cliff Notes. Some rich guy in the early 1900’s was like, “Oh, hey! I’ve got a bunch of money and an ego the size of the Yukon. How can I better the world with all this cash? Should I build a hospital and name it after myself? Or maybe an orphanage? Nah, I’ll build a castle!” And so he did. The place was really interesting. A monument to vanity. At least it was a fun place to live.

Later in the week, it snowed. A real snow this time. Not too much, only about 3 inches. For Mere and me, that’s Snowmageddon. We had some fun out in the snow. We were gonna build a snowman but then realized that the ground is much farther away than it was when we were 8.

6878684687687654.jpgI’ve been trying to text my family more. ‘Trying’ being the key word. I had friends in college who would call home every 2 days or so. I’ve never been that person. I mean, I love my family and all. I just don’t have anything to say. My life doesn’t really change all that much every 2 days. Heck, it barely changes week to week. That’s the hard part of writing this blog. I bore myself with the events of my last week, why would anyone else find them interesting? However, I did promise you, O faithful reader, that I would write to this blog every Friday.

Welp, that’s all for today. See you next time!


Leave a Reply

